1. Home >
  2. Spain is European champion

Spain is European champion

Evženie Votinská, 20.08. 2022 Aktuality

For the first time in the history of European championships U18, Spain won the title of European Junior Champions. In the final of the Euro in Brno they defeated the Netherlands 6:2. The match had to be postponed for 90 minutes due to rain, but the Spanish batsmen did not mind at all. They played very aggressively right from the start of the match and soon took a 5:0 lead. The Dutch batsmen did not get into the game until the 4th inning, when the field was already scattered with rain. The game was eventually suspended at the start of the 5th inning at 6:2 and eventually ended. The gold was won by Spain and the silver by the Netherlands.

The bronze medal went to the Czech national team, which defeated Italy 4:2. Michal Zelenka hit a three-run home run in the opening inning to decide the game. It was his third hit over the fence in the tournament and the tenth for the Czech team. It is the eighth medal for the Czech team in the history of the U18 European Championship, the sixth bronze and the first since 2018. Italy did not defend last year's silver and finished fourth in the tournament.

Germany finished fifth after a 14-1 win over France. The German team went for the win from the start of the game, its pitchers allowed only 2 hits to the French batters and gave away a total of 10 strikeouts.

Great Britain can rejoice. As a qualifying team, they got a great seventh place, the best finish at the European Championships for this age group. They beat Israel 9-3 in the battle for this result.

The teams of Belgium and Austria saved themselves in the elite group with their wins on Friday. The match for the final 9th position was very close. Austria decided to win 4:3 in the 7th inning when the defense made two errors with two bases loaded and allowed the Austrian player to run for the decisive point.

The game between the disappointed and relegated teams, Ireland and Lithuania, ended with the Irish national team winning 11-3.

Final standings:
1. Spain
2. Netherlands
3. Czech Republic
4. Italy
5. Germany
6. France
7. United Kingdom
8. Israel
9. Austria
10. Belgium
11. Ireland
12. Lithuania


Starší články